Sister Anastasia’s advice to the “younger sisters”

We have a tradition in our congregation known as “Lest We Forget” … A book with the obituaries of all the Sisters who have gone before us since our founding, organized by their day of death. Reading about different women each day who lived as Sisters of St Joseph of Peace is a marvelous way of soaking in our history and charism as witnessed by their lives.

Yesterday was the anniversary of Sister Anastasia Daigle, a Sister I never knew but certainly have heard a lot about. She entered in 1925 and went home to God in 2002 at he age of 99 years. As an older retired Sister, she started a ministry to people who were homeless on First Avenue in downtown Seattle. “I’m a beggar and I don’t mind begging for the poor.”

Reading about her this morning, I was really touched by this advice she gave to the “younger sisters” on the occasion of her 60th Jubilee:

“Give your whole self to God … Don’t hold back. Take each day at a time and trust. Let God do in you what needs to be done. If you love enough you can put up with a whole lot.”

Wise words to pray about and live into.

One thought on “Sister Anastasia’s advice to the “younger sisters”

  1. “If you love enough, you can put up with a whole lot. When I was a novidce I used to wonder why the sisters would wish me “the grace of perseverance”. I would wonder “What does that mean? Is somethng horrble coming? Is tthere something I don’t know? Now, I am so greatful for hte grace fo perseverance and I pray for it for many who I know who are struggling to get through a day…. I to me it is the grace of the daily love that stays in order to get through the day…. Bessings…

    Like

Leave a Reply

