Discoveries

I have lived in Chicago’s Hyde Park neighborhood for over two years now. And yet, somehow, I never managed to discover the hidden gem of the Osaka Garden in Jackson Park until today!

Normally when I go for a walk, I walk to Lake Michigan. Today was a bit cooler, overcast, with a drizzle or two, so I decided to go walk among the trees in Jackson Park. That, my friends, is when I discovered this:

Osaka garden at Jackson Park

It’s not the biggest Japanese style garden in the world. It is certainly much smaller than the Portland or Seattle Japanese gardens, and not quite as technically classical in style (from my limited knowledge as a former member of the Portland gardens). Neverthless, it is a gem. Lovely, peaceful, and historic, given that the first Japanese garden was established in the park when it was the sight of the 1893 World’s Fair!

And it’s free to visit. So, after my discovery, I stayed for a while to meditate. After all, in my opinion that is the best thing to do in a Japanese garden. After a while, I got up to leave, and guess who I saw?

Look under the bridge
Look under the bridge

Do you see my feathered friend? Here is a closer shot:

The perfect spot! And photo!
The perfect spot! And photo!

Amazing, huh?  If I had asked my feathered friend to pose for a photo, it could not have been better. Wow.

All in all, it was a beautiful, prayerful morning walk. And guess what? It’s less than a mile from my house. Has been the whole time I’ve lived here, but now I know!

Museum of Science & Industry in the background, with my neighborhood behind that.
Museum of Science & Industry in the background, with my neighborhood behind that.

Who knows what you might discover in your neighborhood?

Leave a Reply

